Partnership Tax Question

Practical and Practice issues for Professionals who practice in the area of taxation. Moral, social and economic issues relating to taxes, including international issues, the U.S. Internal Revenue Code, state tax issues, etc. Not for "tax protestor" issues, which should be posted in the "tax protestor" forum above. The advice or opinion given herein should not be relied on for any purpose whatsoever. Also examines cookie-cutter deals that have no economic substance but exist only to generate losses, as marketed by everybody from solo practitioner tax lawyers to the major accounting firms.
wserra
Quatloosian Federal Witness

Partnership Tax Question

Post by wserra »

Yes, I know, I'm a lawyer. But to this non-tax practitioner, the answer is not obvious. In fact, it's pretty obscure, even after research.

Begin with a law practice LLP. The practice does business in multiple states. The practice's home state (NY) has a personal income tax, as do a couple of the other states in which it does business.

The earnings of a certain non-equity partner are fixed by written agreement as a percentage of what he brings in. He draws no salary. This lawyer is admitted only in NY, and all of his business is in NY state and federal courts. (He is admitted in federal courts outside of NY, but for the year in question had no business in them.) In other words, every dime of his income is directly traceable to NY sources, and only to NY sources.

This lawyer just got a K-1 showing CA and NJ income, and therefore income tax owing to those states. The firm in fact does business in CA and NJ. Are there any circumstances under which this is correct?

Many thanks. Understood not legal advice, etc.
"A wise man proportions belief to the evidence."
- David Hume
Arthur Rubin
Tupa-O-Quatloosia

Re: Partnership Tax Question

Post by Arthur Rubin »