Question for our board's lawyers

A discussion of the better things in life, including music, the arts, wine, beer, cigars, scotch, gambling the Quatloosian way, travel, sports, and many other topics. [Political and religious discussions and the like should stay off-site.]
LightinDarkness
Admiral of the Quatloosian Seas

Question for our board's lawyers

Post by LightinDarkness »

As some of you may recall, I do some part time work as an arbitrator. I'm not a lawyer, I've only had a few law school classes (as electives in graduate school). I have a unusual case that I thought some of our resident lawyers might be able to shed some light on.

Lets say someone sues their employer under the Federal Employers Liability Act:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federal_Em ... bility_Act

This person wins.

Does the law mandate that awards under this law provide compensation based on both present and (expected) future disability? Or does the law allow that someone could make a claim under this and only be awarded for current disability? Ive read the law and cant really find anything, but the case law is rather massive...I have a case that hinges on this question.

I really wish if people were going to give me these kind of cases they'd pay to provide a paralegal or something to read through 23984239824398423984389 pages of case law. Technically I could charge them for the days it would take to wade through all of it, but then theyd have a $30k bill and word would get around that I'm obscenely expensive and no one else would hire me.
Kestrel
Endangerer of Stupid Species

Re: Question for our board's lawyers

Post by Kestrel »

I'm no lawyer either, but it would seem that one shouldn't be able to collect based on damages that are speculative, hypothetical, or unliquidated.

Expected future disability has a speculative factor. A lot would depend on how speculative, and how likely it would be for the condition to deteriorate into real disability if untreated.