Foreclosures, Bankruptcy and capital gains.

A collection of old posts from all forums. No new threads or new posts in old threads allowed. For archive use only.
ErsatzAnatchist

Foreclosures, Bankruptcy and capital gains.

Post by ErsatzAnatchist »

Please forgive me if this is an inappropriate question for this forum. I am an attorney whose practice focuses primarily on bankruptcy law. I have received very contradictory advice about a tax situation that is becoming more common and wanted to check with the smartest tax professionals on the internet. :D

Hypothetical Scenario:

The debtor purchases land (investment property) for $100,000 getting a mortgage to pay the purchase price. The land appreciates to $200,000 value and the debtor refinances for that amount. Now he can’t afford the payments. He files a Chapter 13 bankruptcy and surrenders the property. The secured lender forecloses on the property and the high bid at the foreclosure sale is $150,000.00 The balance of the $200,000 mortgage is discharged. In a chapter 13 bankruptcy, there is no separate taxable bankruptcy estate created (unlike in a chapter 7 case).

Answer 1: there is no “income” because of IRC §108. And, there is no “sale” because a surrender in a bankruptcy does not meet the tax law definition of “sale.” Thus, no tax owed.

Answer 2: the Debtor has a capital gain of $50,000 (representing the foreclosure sale price of $150,000 less the debtor's basis of $100,000). No forgiveness of debt income due to IRC §108.

I am confident that Answer 2 is correct, but I have been told I am wrong by one noted bankruptcy lawyer, who consulted with a tax attorney. My CPA tells my I am right.

Looking for more opinions, preferable with citations in the regs/cases/whatever.

And since I once represented Ed and Elaine Brown (7+ years ago) on a non-tax matter, I think Quatloos might find me worthy of your time). :lol: